Board President
Write a Letter Advocating Affordable Housing
by Board President - Thursday, 12 September 2013, 11:24 AM
 

Have you ever gone without a warm and safe place to live on a regular basis? Safe, warm affordable housing is a basic necessity to living a healthy life. Tell your legislators to support affordable housing in your community today.

Living near the Northern Virginia and Washington D.C. metro area can be an adventurous place to live and raise a family, work, and play; nevertheless, yet some people still are being housed in shelters and living in tents in wooded areas in every surrounding community.

The United Way of the National Capital Area advocates that you please download the sample letter that is provided with this request and find your local representative below.

Alexandria: Mayor William D. Euille - alexvamayor@aol.com or Councilmember Kerry Donley - kjdonley@gmail.com

Arlington: County Manager Barbara Donnellan - countymanager@arlingtonva.us or Board Chair Christopher Zimmerman - countyboard@arlingtonva.us

DC: Mayor Vincent Gray - mayor@dc.gov or Councilmember Kwame Brown - dccouncil@dccouncil.us

Fairfax-Falls Church: Robert F. Lederer - mayor&council@fairfaxva.gov or Kathleen Clarken Buschow - cityclerk@fallschurchva.gov

Loudoun County: Scott York, Chairman - bos@loudoun.gov

Montgomery County: Isiah Leggett, County Executive - ocemail@montgomerycountymd.gov or Valerie Ervin, President - county.council@montgomerycountymd.gov

Prince George's County: Councilmember Samuel Dean - SHDean@co.pg.md.us or Councilmember Thomas E. Dernoga - TEDernoga@co.pg.md.us

Prince William County: Corey A. Stewart - cstewart@pwcgov.org or W.S. "Wally" Covington III - wcovington@pwcgov.org